PLN Genesis?

February 20, 2009

I’ve been working a lot on the notion of Parent Engagement lately… with parents, teachers, principals, school administrators and thought I would post a few thoughts to generate some conversation here.

Personal Learning Networks- a topic many educators participating in social media are talking about.  As I consider the idea of Parent Engagement- and recognize for many kids it is really family engagement- I began to think that really, the PLN starts at birth- your parents, your siblings, your relatives, your friends, your teachers, your peers… everyone you talk with, explore with, play with supports your learning- isn’t that the definition of PLN? WHAT you do, HOW you do it, WHERE you do it, WITH whom and HOW you interact with information and others sets up a belief system about learning and in turn this affects what you ultimately believe about what you are to do in school.

So this started me down a path: the notion of homework- As I start to consider families as members of a child’s personal learning network, it occurred to me that the homework most kids bring home are missed opportunities. Where do we look at homework as a chance to recognize and credit what families already do… the conversation, interaction, and activity that happens when families have time to be together.  It makes me wonder if the notion of homework at the elementary level at least, would be better as a an ongoing conversation between children, families and teachers, to share information, wonderings and anecdotes that can inspire ideas, and help everyone participate in the conversation and communication that is so necessary to connect children’s experiences in school and at home.

Thoughts?

One Response to “PLN Genesis?”


  1. Two things.

    First, I love the title of this blog. It reminds me that I am, first and foremost, a learner. That what I learn today may only be a small opening to greater understanding later.

    Second, you hit upon something I have thought about PLN’s for sometime now. PLN’s are made up of all the people we learn from, and who do we learn first from? Those who raise us, live with us and love us.

    Thanks for your post! I hope to carry on this more with you.


Leave a Reply

